The Great Elastic Band Chase 2009-2012

In September 2009 I started Secondary School and this meant a thirty minute walk to school every morning (and thirty minutes home again).

While walking I noticed that the pavement was littered with red elastic bands, dropped by the postman, I’m sure you know the ones I mean. They were on every street, in large piles by the post box. And instinctively I began to pick them up. And so my collection began to grow.

Quite soon I decided to make this little hobby into a scientific experiment. I could measure the amount of bands dropped, by picking up every one I saw. This would be a great way to measure the amount of money wasted by the Postal service as well as the effects on the environment.

For three years now, I have been picking up bands and now have a collection of 3094, 3541 if you count a load my friends gave to me as a Christmas present.

As you can see from the graph below (not above) my overall collecting has significantly risen, especially between 2009-10 and 2010-2011. However the reason for this may have been because I am picking up the bands more nowadays.

There has been a very slight increase from 2010-2011 to 2011-2012. From my observations I think the peak of my collecting has been late last year when there were loads to be found however now the supply has sum what dried up.

I thoroughly intend to keep my little experiment going and have already started picking up bands for next year’s collection. For my next update come back in one year!

One comment on “The Great Elastic Band Chase 2009-2012

  1. geniuswords says:

    I like the stylish little fly looking cool on one of your elastic bands (not being sarcastic). Es muy guay!

Leave a Reply

