Keeping Christmas to Christmas

Call me Scrooge (I don’t mind) but I have never enjoyed sitting down to watch TV in early October, and having to sit through more Christmas advert then I could count on both hands.

Don’t get me wrong I love Christmas. Christmas is amazing however recently I haven’t failed to notice that it has somewhat expanded over its designated time slot. A few years ago Christmas started on the 1st of December, the shops were immediately clothed with Christmas displays and it was then that you would hear the Christmas carols bursting out from, well everywhere. However each year the prospect of Christmas comes ever nearer. I can’t remember where I heard it but Harrods’s Christmas grotto opened in late July and already Christmas albums are on sale (as if there weren’t enough already).

However this isn’t always a bad things as the advertising gurus will tell you. Companies can make a small (and in some cases large) fortune from this rather un-subtle advertising and I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t looking forward to John Lewis’ annual Christmas advert (see this year’s below).

All my point is (and I don’t think it’s an unreasonable one) it’s a bit early isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

