Cabin Pressure Series 4 Recording 3

CIMG8653Yesterday I fulfilled one of my long time dreams. I met one of my favourite actors, my role model, my hero. Yesterday I met BENEDICT CUMBERBATCH. But let’s start from the beginning, we can’t just skip to the main event.

Me and two friends had journeyed up to London for the recordings of the last two episodes of Cabin Pressure Series 4. CIMG8634We didn’t have tickets but like last time our intention was merely to get into the studios at the end to meet the actors and collect autographs. We also hoped that, like last time, stars Benedict Cumberbatch and Roger Allam would journey down the road to Café Nero to grab themselves a coffee. We positioned ourselves in Pret (‘twas really cold outside) and waited for the chance to see Benedict and Roger. We were half successful as it seems poor little Ben didn’t want a coffee leaving Roger on his own to journey to Nero. We ran ahead to the café where, to look like we were doing something, bought some popcorn and then sat at the window seats. ‘twas then that Roger Allam walked in and ordered a small espresso!!! He then took the window seat next to me!!! Exciting much. However it seems a small espresso is REALLY small and before I had time to take some subtle pictures of him he was gone causing us to rush out a follow him.

CIMG8657The next few hours were quite uneventful. They included wandering round London, using McDonalds toilets and not actually buying anything, looking at the RADA studios from round various corners so we could not be seen and generally passing to time in any way possible.

Soon we knew the recordings would be finis150679_573324692683059_1815122607_nhed so we went up to the RADA studios to see the audience leaving and, taking our chance, walked in.

There we met Anthony Head, Roger Allam, John Finnemore, David Tyler, Stephanie Cole and BENEDICT CUMBERBATCH!

They were all lovely people (especially Anthony). I got loads of photos and two new autographs from CIMG8661those I hadn’t seen before. This included Benedict who, although was in a rush, managed to make my day.

BENEDICT: What’s your name (taking autograph book).

ME: Philip, one ‘l’.

Benedict writes autograph.CIMG8670

BENEDICT: (Handing back autograph book and looking at my face) Thank you Philip.

That was a dream come true! On my third recording (I’ve been to all of them this series although only got in once) I met lovely Benedict. That’s my life’s ambition complete!

Leave a Reply

