The Graphic Art of the Harry Potter Films

Over the last few months, my passion for Harry Potter has been waning a bit. I think this has to be because of the fact that I did over-exploit both the films and books, and by that I mean constantly re-rereading and rewatching. This is sad for me because I am worried that my passion and enthusiasm for the stories will go and leave way to my recent most obsessions such as Cabin Pressure and Lord of the Rings.

However recently something happened that was just enough the restart that Harry Potter spark from within me!

I was searching the Internet for the latest news relating to Harry Potter when a review came up for a small exhibition going on in London and it just so happened I would be in London, in that very area on the week it was open.

IMG_1425

‘The Graphic Art of the Harry Potter Films’ was a collection of graphic props from the Harry Potter films. These included Posters, Magazine Covers and Potion Boxes. Although small (the gallery was only two rooms big), this was an excellent place to see some new designs I hadn’t seen before and some closer up (which I had seen in DVD extras and other stuff like that). Although nothing like the ‘Harry Potter Studio Tours’, this was a great place to see some of the film’s unseen but great graphic work.

Here are some of the great pieces which were on display.

CIMG9730CIMG9734IMG_1420

A very good display and I would recommend it to anyone who has the ability to go back in time to visit such things.

2 comments on “The Graphic Art of the Harry Potter Films

  1. Graham Jones says:

    Who doesn’t like a bit of graphic art!?

Leave a Reply

